WHAT IF MY PHONE IS LOST OR STOLEN

If your phone becomes lost or stolen, blinx can help. We advise as a precaution you take advantage of the various bio metric security features and password protection available on most phones to restrict access to your phone if it is lost or stolen.

Be prudent! If your phone becomes lost - lock your SIM card as soon as possible. You need to contact your mobile provider immediately and instruct them to lock your SIM card. Once this is done it will no longer be possible to verify your blinx account on your original phone, as this phone will not be able to receive the "verify" SMS message.

The way to deactivate your account on the lost/stolen phone is to activate your account on your new phone. Please activate your account on your new phone as soon as possible. You can do this when you have your new SIM card with the same number on your new phone.

If you have an iPhone and stay with iPhone no problem, Apple will have you back where you were before you lost your phone in no time at all. If you use iCloud to back up your phone including your apps, you will be able to restore the blinx app and your content. The blinx app and contents are backed-up when you back-up your phone as part of your routine phone data management. When you restore the apps and data from the original phone back-up to your new phone the blinx app will be restored along with all the blinx and blinxbooks.

There are many many Android devices so we advise that if you have an Android phone then please refer to the phone manufacturer’s instructions regarding backing up and restoring data and apps for your specific device.

blinx strongly advises that you set up your phone to back-up regularly and automatically - this will minimise the risk of losing data. We also advise that you check that this back-up process is working effectively and that all your apps/data are indeed in the back-up file. This will put you in a position to restore all your apps should you so need to do.

 

WHAT IF I CHANGE/UPGRADE MY PHONE

If you have an iPhone and stay with iPhone no problem, Apple will have you back where you were before you changed your phone in no time at all. If you use iCloud to back up your phone including your apps, you will be able to restore the blinx app and your content. The blinx app and contents are backed-up when you back-up your phone as part of your routine phone data management. When you restore your old phone set-up on your new phone the blinx app will be restored with all the blinx and blinxbooks that you had on your original phone.

This will deactivate the account on your original phone as blinx can only be active on the same telephone number on one device at the same time.

There are many many Android devices so we advise that if you have an Android phone then please refer to the phone manufacturer’s instructions regarding backing up and restoring data and apps for your specific device

blinx strongly advises that you set up your phone to back-up regularly and automatically - this will minimise the risk of losing data. We also advise that you check that this back-up process is working effectively and that all your apps/data are indeed in the back-up file. This will put you in a position to restore all your apps and content should you so need to do

WHAT IF I CHANGE MY PHONE NUMBER

Your blinx account is linked to your phone number. If you change your phone number you will need to edit your phone number in the profile part of the app to reflect your change in number.

You will be sent a a code via SMS on the new number to verify the account. You are only able to change your number one time in every 24hrs.  

Please remember to let your in-crowd know about your change in number so they can still share with you!

PLEASE NOTE:

It is IMPORTANT to understand if you give up you phone number it might be recycled by your phone company and in time assigned to another customer. To protect your blinx account, before you give up your number, you must first do one of two things:

(a) If you wish to continue to use blinx - please enter your new number in the profile section of the blinx app.

(b) If you no longer wish to use blinx - please deactivate your account.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I SWITCH DEVICE TYPE

Currently blinx is  designed to run on IOS (apple) and Android phones.

You are able to change your phone and/or phone number and keep the same account as long as you are not switching device type.

If you wish to change from IOS to Android (or Android to IOS) this will be treated as a new purchase, a fresh install and a new account.